MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE AVON LAKE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL HELD JANUARY 3, 2022

The organizational meeting of the Avon Lake Municipal Council was called to order on January 3, 2022 at 7:30 P.M. in the Council Chamber with Mr. O'Donnell presiding.

Mr. Arnold led the Council, staff, and public in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Certificates of Election were submitted by the Clerk of Council.

Law Director Ebert stated that the practice of submitting the Public Officials Bonds of City Council is no longer necessary since all City Council members are insured under the City's professional liability insurance and separate bonds are not issued.

The Honorable Darrel Bilancini administered the Oath of Office to Mr. Arnold, Mrs. David, Mr. O'Donnell, Mr. Spaetzel, and Mr. Zuber.

Present: Council Members Zach Arnold, Billie Jo David, Jennifer Fenderbosch, Marty O'Donnell, Mark Spaetzel, K. C. Zuber; Mayor Greg Zilka, Law Director Gary Ebert, Finance Director Steve Presley, and Clerk of Council Valerie Rosmarin.

Absent: David Kos and Public Works Director Reitz.

Mrs. Fenderbosch moved to nominate Mr. O'Donnell to serve as Council President for the 2022/2023 term of Council.

There were no other nominations.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Council President O'Donnell moved to nominate Mrs. Fenderbosch to serve as Council President Pro Tem for the 2022/2023 term of Council.

There were no other nominations.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mrs. Fenderbosch moved to approve the 2022 Council Meeting Schedule.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Council President O'Donnell moved to approve the appointments to the Council committees.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Zuber moved to appoint Valerie Rosmarin to the position of Clerk of Council commencing January 1, 2022 to serve for a term concurrent with this Council.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Council President O'Donnell moved to appoint Jennifer Fenderbosch as the Council Representative to Planning Commission commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2023.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Spaetzel moved to appoint James Shook to the Zoning Board of Appeals for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2026.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Zuber moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Richard Tayek to the Civil Service Commission for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2027.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried. Mrs. Fenderbosch moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Billie Jo David as the Council Representative to the Parks & Recreation Commission for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2023.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mrs. David moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Lynette Brausch and Georganne Wolnowski to the Parks & Recreation Commission for terms commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2024.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mrs. David moved to appoint Sam Naumann, Rita George, Kayla Goodwin, Jen Miller, Marty Patton, Terry Robison, and Terry Wyrock to the Environmental Affairs Advisory Board for terms commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2023.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Arnold moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Weldon Rice and Dave Updegraff to the Digital Media Commission for terms commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2024.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mrs. Fenderbosch moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Amanda Ortiz Byrnes to the Citizen Tree Commission for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2024.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried. Mr. Zuber moved to appoint Deborah Beard, Douglas Rider, and Thomas Tyler to the Historical Preservation Commission for terms commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2023.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Zuber moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Sandy Garrett to the Historical Preservation Commission for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2023.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Spaetzel moved to appoint Joseph Adams and John Hall to the Income Tax Board of Review for terms commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2023.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Spaetzel moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Tim McNeill to the Income Tax Board of Review for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2023.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mr. Arnold moved to appoint Robert Scott to the Community Reinvestment Area Housing Council for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2024.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried. Mr. Arnold moved to confirm the Mayor's appointment of Jeffrey Brausch to the Community Reinvestment Area Housing Council for a term commencing January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2024.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Mrs. Fenderbosch moved for adjournment.

Yes: Arnold, David, Fenderbosch, O'Donnell, Spaetzel, Zuber

No: None Absent: Kos Motion carried.

Adjournment: 8:07 p.m.

Approved: /s/ Martin E. O Donnell
Council President Attest: /s/Valerie E. Rosmarin