Civil Service Commission

The Avon Lake Civil Service Commission administers and enforces the Civil Service Ordinance of the City and the rules and regulations relative to the City of Avon Lake.

Commission Members

The commission consists of three electors of the city (not holding other municipal office or appointment) and serve for a term of six (6) years.

  • John Polinko (term expires 12/31/2025)
  • Richard Tayek (term expires 12/31/2027)
  • William Albrecht (term expires 12/31/2029)

Meeting Times & Locations

Meetings are held in the Council Conference Room on the first floor of City Hall, 150 Avon Belden Road. They typically meet the first Monday of the month at 4:30 p.m.

Agenda and Minutes

Civil Service & Other Job Openings:

Visit Civil Service Job Openings for current employment opportunities.

Specific Commission Responsibilities:

The Commission shall administer and enforce the Civil Service Ordinance of the City and the rules and regulations relative to the City of Avon Lake. The Commission conducts entrance examinations and promotional examinations. The Commission shall recommend to Council, for their approval, the exempt or unclassified position in the City and is guided by the laws of the State of Ohio. The Commission shall provide for appeals from the action of the Mayor in any case of transfer, reduction or removal. The Commission shall keep a record of its proceedings and examinations.

View the current Civil Service Rules and Certified Eligibility Lists.